The mission of the Association of Historical Societies of New Hampshire is to encourage and assist in the study, preservation, and understanding of New Hampshire’s history. To accomplish this mission the Association acts as a networking organization to serve the state’s historical societies and organizations, cultural institutions, and other interested organizations and individuals. 


The Association was formed at a meeting held September 15, 1950, in “The Little Red Schoolhouse” in Wakefield, with thirteen societies represented. It was incorporated on October 16, 1951, with twenty-four charter member societies and about 100 additional individual members.

2019 Officers and Directors

  • Michelle Stahl, Monadnock Center for History and Culture (President)

  • Elizabeth Farish, Strawbery Banke (Vice President)

  • Jennifer Carroll, Historical Society of Cheshire County (Treasurer)

  • Andrew Cushing, New Hampshire Preservation Alliance (Corresponding Secretary)

  • David Ruell, Ashland Historical Society (Recording Secretary)

  • Valerie Cunningham, African American Resource Center (Past President)

  • Heather Mitchell, Hopkinton Historical Society (Past President)

  • Bob Cottrell, Conway and Tamworth Historical Societies and Henney History Room of Conway Public Library

  • Stephanie Seacord, Strawbery Banke Museum

  • Judith Solberg, Cardigan Mountain School Archives

  • Thomas Wallace, Rumney Historical Society

Past Presidents of the Association

Honorary President

S. Carleton Rogers

Past Presidents 

  • 1950-1952 S. Carleton Rogers, Wakefield-Brookefield Historical Society

  • 1952-1954 Mary Senior Brown, Sandwich Historical Society

  • 1954-1956 Arthur A. Tilton, Thompson- Ames Historical Society

  • 1956-1958 Mrs. John F. Cloutman, Farmington Historical Society

  • 1958-1960 Philip A. Wilcox, Durham Historical Society

  • 1960-1962 Alexander R. Livingstone, Sanbornton Historical Society

  • 1962-1964 Prescott W. Hall, Salem

  • 1964-1966 Ralph R. Acker, Madison

  • 1966-1968 John C. Perry, Historical Society of Cheshire County

  • 1968-1970 Mrs. Philip A. Wilcox, Durham Historical Society

  • 1970-1972 J. Gardner Mills, Dunbarton Historical Society

  • 1972-1974 Edward G. Wood, North Hampton

  • 1974-1976 Mrs. O.H. Drake, Wolfeboro

  • 1976-1978 David R. Proper, Keene Historical Society

  • 1978-1979 William G. Herman, Weare Historical Society

  • 1979-1980 Arthur J. Moody, Hampton

  • 1980-1982 Mildred Ilsley, Plaistow Historical Society

  • 1982-1984 Ann Tenney, Newport

  • 1984-1986 Virginia O'Neal, Hinsdale

  • 1986-1988 David Willis, Raymond

  • 1988-1990 Ruth Loring, Ossipee

  • 1990-1992 Ingrid Smith, Center Harbor

  • 1992-1994 Ralph T. Malmgren, Wolfeboro Historical Society

  • 1994-1996 Ellamarie Carr, Alton

  • 1996-1998 Edward Tuck, Hanover

  • 1998-2001 David Ruell, Ashland

  • 2001-2003 Frederick Foley, Wolfeboro

  • 2003-2006 Linda Day, Concord

  • 2007-2010 Tom Haynes, Historical Society of Cheshire County

  • 2016 Jennifer Goodman, New Hampshire Preservation Alliance

  • 2017 Heather Mitchell, Hopkinton Historical Society

  • 2018 Valerie Cunningham, African American Resource Center